Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Post your quires on Carbon Dioxide and alternative products.
apuda2010
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:01 am

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby apuda2010 » Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:33 pm

Hi Romi...I think you are referring to Tirthankar Chattopadhyay , right ? Well I have read his posts on IAH but never met him.

On CO2 running 24x7 , I have a simple observation - if nature does not believe in running CO2 24x7 , why should we ?

No matter what bps you run the CO2 at , ultimately , if you run it 24x7 , you will land up lowering the pH so much that fish will not be able to live in the tank. So in case you are planning a planted tank only with no fish , by all means run the CO2 24x7.



User avatar
juanico
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:38 am
Location: Delhi

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby juanico » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:23 am

apuda2010 wrote:Hi Romi...I think you are referring to Tirthankar Chattopadhyay , right ? Well I have read his posts on IAH but never met him.

On CO2 running 24x7 , I have a simple observation - if nature does not believe in running CO2 24x7 , why should we ?

No matter what bps you run the CO2 at , ultimately , if you run it 24x7 , you will land up lowering the pH so much that fish will not be able to live in the tank. So in case you are planning a planted tank only with no fish , by all means run the CO2 24x7.


exactly.

24/7 CO2 lowers the ph. if your water has only little kH, there is no buffer, so pH might get really low.
CO2 accumulates in the tank over night...so again, if you keep fish that is an disadvantage.
you can handle this problems by using an air pump during night time, which drives out the CO2...

either way: and at the end it is a waste of CO2 and you have to refill earlier.

cheers
juanico

User avatar
marsaiko
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Posts: 891
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:14 am
Location: H-g'd

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby marsaiko » Wed Dec 07, 2011 10:24 am

Nice show Apuda, thats hell lot of equipment. Surely must be giving your calm-night-sleep. :)

If you can you link me to the pictures/journal of your tank it would be great.
Thanks.
nut cases ratt
brainless growl
rest you dont understand, and thats where you read/think TWICE before you post!!

Abhi
Promising Star of AquaPetZ!
Promising Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 2209
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Gurgaon

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby Abhi » Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:45 pm

Apuda,

How has the system been performing? Any updated pics of the tank its running on?
MTS: Multiple tank syndrome !

apuda2010
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 524
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:01 am

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby apuda2010 » Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:39 pm

Abhi - its been performing rock solid. No leakages..the bps is held constant by the needle valve.

User avatar
Aquachem
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:40 pm
Location: indirapuram

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby Aquachem » Sat Oct 27, 2012 2:45 pm

does the co2 pressure fall during winters. during summers my pressure stayed at 1000psi for full 30 days before it started to fall. its a 1kg cyl. this month the pressure hasdropped to 500psi in 10 days. should i expect some stability anytime soon. and what could be the impact on the 2nd pressure gauge? i just want tobe sure how to distinguish this from the end of cyl dump situation. if it's true then could one overfill the cyl during winters and underfill during summers?

User avatar
zico_aqua
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Posts: 803
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:13 am
Location: Bangalore

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby zico_aqua » Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:08 pm

pressure variation is because your cylinder is getting empty, nothing more nothing less! the first gauge you referred to is the cylinder gauge, the second one is the actual o/p pressure gauge, ideally 10psi in there should be prefect. Second gas expands in high temp, but inside a cylinder unlikely unless it's kept in the sun!
Abhradip Choudhuri

Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement.

User avatar
Aquachem
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:40 pm
Location: indirapuram

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby Aquachem » Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:17 pm

zico_aqua wrote:pressure variation is because your cylinder is getting empty, nothing more nothing less! the first gauge you referred to is the cylinder gauge, the second one is the actual o/p pressure gauge, ideally 10psi in there should be prefect. Second gas expands in high temp, but inside a cylinder unlikely unless it's kept in the sun!


ok, that is funny. my first regulator was yamato which i bought 3months back. with this my pressure lasted for 1.5 months. then it crashed in the 2nd month and i bot a weldstar with warranty. last month it worked for 20 days before reaching 500 psi. now i got my 1 kg cyl filled only 8 days back and now it's reached 500 psi. :cnf

User avatar
Aquachem
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Rising Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:40 pm
Location: indirapuram

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby Aquachem » Sat Oct 27, 2012 6:26 pm

howmuch should my cyl weigh when i get it refilled. its a 1 kg cyl, last time i saw after filling the weight showed 2.600kg at the station. i have checked for leakages and all but couldnt find any. and if it was leaking, the pressure should fall even if it aint running, but that's not the case either.

User avatar
zico_aqua
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Posts: 803
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2012 1:13 am
Location: Bangalore

Re: Hi-tech setup...what all do you need

Unread postby zico_aqua » Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:21 pm

check for leaks..sounds like a leak from the regulator connector area to me!
Abhradip Choudhuri

Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from bad judgement.