Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Forum for discussion on substrate and fertilizers used in aquariums
User avatar
smileysid
New Star of AquaPetZ!
New Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:01 am
Location: New delhi
Contact:

Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby smileysid » Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:18 pm

Hello all,

I am going to update my 3 feet tank (55Gallon) bottom with DIY substrate. The current tank is planted moderately with good growth through DIY fertz and good lighting-CO2 having inert fine gravels.
Though I want to update it with nutrient rich substrate for carpet plants and others, my major concern is the fishes.
Currently I have Neon tetras, Rummynose, Rosy Barbs, Danios, plecos etc, and they have well settled in the aqua environment. But as, I disturb the tank and update with DIY substrate, Will it effect if I add my fishes back to the tank quickly after the scaping is done?
Currently, I am having only one tank, so, I cant wait for few days to settle the aquarium and plants and then add the fishes.

Give your suggestions.


- Siddharth Sahani | Architect | Photographer | Aqua-hobbyist| www.siddharthsahani.com

User avatar
parthapratim22
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5289
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:38 am
Location: KOLKATA>HYDERABAD>DELHI

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby parthapratim22 » Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:51 pm

Yes it will, accidentally you may loose all the fished. Thats not because of the substrate but the ammonia poisoning.
Aquascaping Products and Designs viewforum.php?f=60
9599388127

User avatar
smileysid
New Star of AquaPetZ!
New Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:01 am
Location: New delhi
Contact:

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby smileysid » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:33 pm

Ammonia due to substrate? I am not going to wash/ rinse the current substrate gravels. Thinking of reusing it as it is along with 50% of the current tank water to retain the biological microorganism at max . Concern is to put a layer of nutrient rich layer in between.
Looking forward for more light on it.
- Siddharth Sahani | Architect | Photographer | Aqua-hobbyist| www.siddharthsahani.com

User avatar
saikumar
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Secunderabad(far from REZ)

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby saikumar » Fri Sep 11, 2015 6:14 pm

What ever you do add lighter substrate at bottom and heavier substrate on top. It ll hold longer.

User avatar
smileysid
New Star of AquaPetZ!
New Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:01 am
Location: New delhi
Contact:

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby smileysid » Fri Sep 11, 2015 11:23 pm

...hold longer to cycle the tank to its fullest?

Rajeev ji, what do u suggest?

Can I put ADA or other premium substrate over the current substrate? Will there still be a problem?
- Siddharth Sahani | Architect | Photographer | Aqua-hobbyist| www.siddharthsahani.com

User avatar
SCORPIO
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10350
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:01 am
Location: Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby SCORPIO » Sat Sep 12, 2015 8:38 am

smileysid wrote:...hold longer to cycle the tank to its fullest?

Rajeev ji, what do u suggest?

Can I put ADA or other premium substrate over the current substrate? Will there still be a problem?


Dont make a cocktail. You can use branded susbstrate around 3-5 years. But if you mix with DIY, it will not reusable.
“Take up one idea. Make that one idea your life - think of it, dream of it, live on that idea. This is the way to success.”

...................Swami Vivekananda

User avatar
smileysid
New Star of AquaPetZ!
New Star of AquaPetZ!
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 11:01 am
Location: New delhi
Contact:

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby smileysid » Sat Sep 12, 2015 11:44 am

If i use branded one then can i put my fishes immediately?
- Siddharth Sahani | Architect | Photographer | Aqua-hobbyist| www.siddharthsahani.com

User avatar
parthapratim22
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5289
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 10:38 am
Location: KOLKATA>HYDERABAD>DELHI

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby parthapratim22 » Sat Sep 12, 2015 2:16 pm

Branded soil tank also need to be cycled
Aquascaping Products and Designs viewforum.php?f=60
9599388127

User avatar
SCORPIO
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10350
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 11:01 am
Location: Delhi, India
Contact:

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby SCORPIO » Sat Sep 12, 2015 4:17 pm

parthapratim22 wrote:Branded soil tank also need to be cycled


:1
“Take up one idea. Make that one idea your life - think of it, dream of it, live on that idea. This is the way to success.”

...................Swami Vivekananda

User avatar
saikumar
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Aspiring Star of AquapetZ!
Posts: 971
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 7:44 am
Location: Secunderabad(far from REZ)

Re: Updating tank with DIY Substrate (Coco-peat, Soilrite-Garden Soil, Fine gravels) and its quick effect on fishes

Unread postby saikumar » Sun Sep 13, 2015 11:55 am

SCORPIO wrote:
smileysid wrote:...hold longer to cycle the tank to its fullest?

Rajeev ji, what do u suggest?

Can I put ADA or other premium substrate over the current substrate? Will there still be a problem?


Dont make a cocktail. You can use branded susbstrate around 3-5 years. But if you mix with DIY, it will not reusable.

:1

By theory if lighter substrate is below heavier substrate lesser dust will leak into your tank. Most of the Diy substrates are prone to this.